So this is the first step of my blogging future

Please forgive me if this isn’t up to scratch of other blogs you have read but as a 40+ woman this is a whole new ball game to me.

The reason for starting this blog is that I have decided to undertake a month long project and I thought I would use this blog as a way to track my progress. So, why use this as a way to track my progress instead just keeping my own personal diary?

Yesterday I saw a 20 something lady on the television who had gone healthy and started a blog. She was taking pictures of the food she was creating and the work outs she was doing in order to help other people get fit and healthy. This was very inspiring but also, to me, a little overwhelming. Because I aren’t a 20 something woman, I aren’t an actress who (I imagine) has a lot of spare time. What I am, is a woman of a certain age, who doesn’t particularly like healthy food or I has a lot of time for preparing it. I also struggle to find the time to exercise which, if you’ve read the about page, you will understand why. I class myself as a “normal” woman and I hoped that other “normal” women would find this blog interesting and (maybe) motivating.

My monthly project is to change my health and fitness so my life is back to something like it used to be before:

  • I started my business;
  • I had my brush with thyroid cancer and had 2/3 of it removed;
  • I let myself slide into the unhealthy place I am in now

What is my goal then? When I look back at pictures of 5 years ago the difference is frightening (to me anyway!) I used to run half marathons, eat relatively healthily, only drunk alcohol when I went out and my skin was holding up really well. Today is my last day of eating sugar. I haven’t had a drink of alcohol for nearly 2 weeks now, I went for a walk today (achieving my 6,000 steps target!), I will be starting my full Arbonne regime tomorrow and taking my Juice Plus supplements. I’ll be keeping you all posted over the coming weeks.

Here’s a thought to leave you with. Isn’t it strange that when you look at photo’s when they were taken you hate them but when you look back later you realise that you looked pretty good? Maybe we should all enjoy the moment rather than continually critique how we look?

 

Leave a Reply

