3rd May to 4th May

Well wasn’t it nice to have a short “working” week?

You know how sometimes you have a feeling that you just can’t shake off. I remember once being on holiday with my parents and the kids and I just couldn’t shake off the feeling of anxiety. Well I have had a feeling like that for the last few days but this time it is a feeling of awesomeness and I can’t quite put my finger on why. If you have been reading this blog then you will know that I have made some major changes in my life and it could be down to any of them. One thing I do know is that I’m not going to go backwards and introduce any of it back into my life……well not as long as I can continue!

I didn’t even let a serious case of bad networking get me down. Now I appreciate that some people who read this blog won’t have ever done any business networking. They might think it is some kind of strange club that people belong to. But really it’s just like going to a party except you can talk abour work without coming across as some kind of boring workoholic with nothing else in your life. Basic rules apply so….smile, mingle, remember that you have 2 ears and 1 mouth and be polite. I often go networking, and actually enjoy it but this week I saw the worse case of networking ever. It really isn’t a good way to get business by going upto 2 people talking, start talking to one of them whilst completely ignoring the other person, without even saying hello! Well, that’s one person that I won’t be giving work to, or even recommending them in fact.

I also went to the awesome 4Networking Cheshire meeting this week. If you have read my previous blogs you will have read about the awesome Jo Howarth, who runs The Happiness Club, and some of the amazing ways she helps people with Hynotherapy and mindfulness. Well she was speaking at the networking event and yet again she came up with a brilliant tip to help people live in the moment…..at the end of every day write 5 things that you are glad about. They don’t have to be massive things just little things but it’s a nice way to end your day instead of dwelling on the bad things that have happened.

Wednesday was finished with a Parents Evening for Kevin. I don’t know what it’s like for other high schools (or Academies depending on where you are) but aparents eveningt our High School Parents Evening are a nightmare. You make appointments with the relevant teachers but they are running late for every one. Our approach to parents evening is to start at the first appointment and then when there is a queue see if you can slot another of the appointments whilst you should be queuing. Our approach doesn’t mean that you finish earlier but you have a fair chance of finishing on time. The question is….what do you do when your children are making the same mistakes as you did? I try to empahsis rather then tell off. I know some things are boring, writing an assignment and then check it and check it again and again to fine tune it. Is it wrong to agree that some parts of school can be boring??

One thought on “Feeling Awesome!!

Leave a Reply

