10th June to 12th June

So, a little down fact about me is that I am anti-academy. Both my children are currently attending a local academy which is part of a Multi-Academy Trust. At the moment I am part of a private Facebook group which was set up to allow parents a voice regarding any issues they may have about the academy in question. Only parents are allowed to join to ensure the privacy of it’s members and allow freedom of speech. This group has had posts leaked to the Executive Principal of the Multi-Academy Trust and he is now threatening legal action. We are just in the process of setting up a Go Fund Me page where any donations can be made to help us fight our cause. The issues we are facing are  much deeper than the article indicates but I’ll keep you posted without trying to get into more trouble!

Although I have to be careful about what I post about the above issues it was thrilling to get into the press because, having shared all the documentation with the journalist concerned (Warwick Mansell), it was a real boost to the campaign for someone other than parents and WhistleblowersUK to listen to us. Now, as many people may have heard, being in the press is a double edged sword and we had to be very careful to ensure that the story wasn’t diluted or reported in a way we weren’t happy with. It is also really, really time consuming!

The campaign also takes  up a massive amount of time in itself. Over the course of the 3 days covered by this blog we have:

  • Had a meeting with our local MP. The MP was about as much use as a chocolate teapot! All they wanted to focus on was the legal issue that was in the paper where as the group has many more issues to focus on. It didn’t end well when we were accussed of wanting a quote for the press when it had taken us since September to get anyone to listen and then once it was in the press we had a response to our request for a meeting with them less than 12 hours after the article came out.
  • Met with 2 ex parents to discuss their issues and get signed statements from them
  • Had a meeting of the group to discuss next steps

The above points might not have seemed very much but I am also running a business, have a full time job, trying to set up my Arbonne business and am married with 2 children. Thank goodness for a supportive husband and a great team running the business!

What happened in the rest of the 3 days then! Well I finally went back to Slimming World to find out that I had put 3lbs back on. Not suprising given that since I feel off the sweetie wagon I haven’t stopped eating chocolate and bad stuff. But still you’ve got to be in it to win it and I certainly won’t lose any weight if I aren’t at least attending the meetings.

So, after going to Slimming World and meeting with an MP I met my parents and the children at the swimming baths (showing my age saying that!). Mum and dad had offered to take them swimming as Kevin needs to keep up on his exercise and Scarlett just likes to exercise. Kevin decide it would be funny to splash me whilst I was watching (good job I hadn’t straightened my hair!). After everyone had got dressed we all sat and had a coffee in the little cafe and had a catch up about events of the weekend.

After I had taken Kevin home, 3 hours away from the computer is far too long for him, Scarlett and I hit the shops to ensure that she had everything she needs for an upcoming performance and for school. This is how contrary Scarlett is…..we went shopping for a new leotard and tights for the dance performance then swiftly went to a sports shop to buy a pair of rugby boots! We also realised that the sports shop and another of our favourite shops had a sale on so we made a few other purchase as well! In order to diminish our guilt we bought stuff for Kevin and Mr Roberts too.

Scarlett also had a bit of a melt down on Saturday evening. Mr Roberts was telling stories about when Kevin was a baby and she got upset when he told more stories about Kevin than her. The problem is that when Scarlett was a baby she didn’t want anything to do with her dad where as Kevin spent every waking moment with his dad. It was strange to watch her because I could see her getting herself more and more upset. Until eventually she got to the point that nobody loved her. It was resolved when we spent some time cuddling in bed and sharing stories.

Let’s finish on something funny. A friend had set up a Facebook Messenger group for her birthday and someone posted that there was a sale in the stores we were talking about above. I posted “it’s a code red…..we need to get there” it turns out that the stores are closing because the rents have doubled. My friend posted “don’t get Nichole on the case it’ll end up in the press!”….cheeky monkey my friends are! Here’s a lesson for everyone….never stop smiling and always see the funny side of life!

Next time…Scarlett feels better and it’s time for meltdown week!

 

One thought on “Taking Parenting seriously

Leave a Reply

